Lapuente, Manuel

Manuel Lapuente Diaz (Spanish. Manuel Lapuente diaz; May 15, 1944, Mexico City) – Mexican footballer and football coach. He played as a striker.

Leading the Mexican national team, won the 1998 CONCACAF and 1999 Confederations Cuba.



Manuel Lapuente played for four different Mexican clubs from 1964 to 1975, namely Monterrey, Necaca, Puebla and Atlas.

During his playing career, in 1967-1973, the striker also played for the Mexican national team, in which he played 13 matches and scored 5 goals.



After becoming a coach, Lapuente became the head of one of his former clubs, Puebla, with which he became the champion of Mexico in the 1982/83 season. After leaving the club in 1984 and returning to it again in 1988, Manuel managed to win 3 more titles with Puebla, namely, once again become the of Mexico (in the 1989/90 season), become the owner of the 1989/90 Mexican Cup and win the Cup 1991. Later, Lapuente managed to become twice champion of Mexico, but already at the head of the Necaxa club, for which the coach played during his playing career. Under Manuel’s leadership, Necax won two Mexican championships in a row, in the 1994/95 and 1995/96 seasons. Lapuente also won another Mexican championship with the “America” club from Mexico City, and this happened in the summer of 2002. Manuel’s last club title was America’s victory in the 2006 CONCACAF Champions Cup.

With five league titles, Lapuente, along with Javier de la Torre, shares the third line in the Mexican championship winnings for coaches. Only Ignacio Trélles (7 titles) and Raul Cardenas (6 titles) were placed above.

In 2011, Lapuente was offered the post of vice-president of the Club America from Mexico City, and Manuel agreed.

In the national team

Manuel Lapuente won two major tournaments with Mexico, including the 1998 CONCACAF Gold Cup and 1999 FIFA Confederations Cup. At the 1999 Confederations Cup, the Mexicans beat Brazil 4-3 in the final.

Lapuente led the Mexican national team at the 1998 World Cup, in which the the stage of the 1/8 finals, in which they lost 1: 2 to the German national team.



Mexico squad

  • CONCACAF Gold Cup Winner: 1998
  • Winner of the Confederations Cup: 1999
  • CONCACAF Gold Cup bronze medalist: 1991
  • America’s Cup bronze medalist: 1999


  • of Mexico (2): 1982/83, 1989/90
  • Mexican Cup Winner: 1989/90
  • CONCACAF Champions Cup Winner: 1991


  • Champion of Mexico (2): 1994/95, 1995/96

„America” ​​Mexico City

  • Champion Mexico: 2002 (summer)
  • CONCACAF Champions Cup Winner: 2006

If you liked this post and you would like to obtain far more information concerning wd kindly take a look at the site.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top